Realizing the urgent need to revamp the rural agricultural scenario to turn the farming into a productive activity, RICAREA have organized a two days’ National Seminar on Integrated Farming Systems for Sustainable Agriculture and Enhancement of Rural Livelihoods on the 13th and 14th December 2015 in collaboration with the ICAR and National Academy for Agricultural Research Management (NAARM) at Rajendranagar in Hyderabad. The Proceedings of the National seminar was published under the title “Integrated Farming Systems for Sustainable Agriculture and Enhancement of Rural Livelihoods” and dedicated to the memory of Late Dr. M.V.S. Sastry who was the founder Member, the first General-Secretary, President and Honorary President of RICAREA.

Patrons of RICAREA

Chief Patron of RICAREA
MSRF M.S.Swaminathan
Research Foundation, Chennai

Patrons of RICAREA and Recipients of Dr.M.S.Swaminathan Award for Outstanding Scientists for their Lifetime Achievements

S.No Name Year of Award
1 Dr. Genda Lal Jain
Former Director Venco Research and
Breeding Farm Pvt. Limited
2004 - 2005
2 Dr. B. S. Prakash
Assistant Director General (ANP), ICAR
2006 - 2007
3 Dr. S. Nagarajan
Former Director, IARI and
Former Chairperson
Protection of Plant Varieties and
Farmer’s Right Authority. GOI
2008 - 2009
4 Late Dr. R. Sai Kumar
Former Director, ICAR - DMR, New Delhi
2010 - 2011
4 Dr. N. Shobha Rani
Former Director (Acting) ICAR - IIRR, Hyderabad (Joint Recipient)
2010 - 2011
5 Dr. S. L. Goswami
Vice Chancellor
Banda University of Agriculture
and Technology
2012 - 2013
6 Dr. R.R. Hanchinal
Former Chairperson
Protection of Plant Varieties and
Farmer’s Right Authority. Govt.
2015 - 2016
7 Dr. V.Praveen Rao
Professor Jaishankar Telengana State
Agricultural University
(Selected and Award function to be
2018 - 2020
Honorary Patrons of RICAREA
Chief Guests of M.S. Swaminathan Award Function
Shri Sushil Kumar Shinde
Hon’ble Governor of Andhra
Chief Guest Dr. Ist M.S. Swaminathan Award
Function, 27th October, 2005
Daguupati Purandeswari, Hon’ble
Minister of
State for Human Resource
Development, Govt.of India
Chief Guest Dr. 2nd M.S. Swaminathan Award
Function, 3rd November, 2007
Dr Konijeti Rosaiah
Hon’ble Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh
Chief Guest Dr. 3rd M.S. Swaminathan Award Function,
14th November, 2009
Dr Jaya Prakash Narayan,
and President Loksatta Party
Chief Guest Dr. 4th M.S. Swaminathan Award Function,
19th May, 2012
Sri M. Venkaiah Naidu Hon’ble Minister for Urban Development,
Poverty Alleviation and Parliamentary Affairs ,
Government of India
Chief Guest Dr. 5th M.S. Swaminathan Award Function,
16th November,
Dr.C. Parthasarathy,
IAS Secretary,
Agriculture and Cooperation,
Government of Telangana
Chief Guest Dr. 6th M.S. Swaminathan Award Function,
14th April,
Other Honorary Patrons
Dr. V.L. Chopra Dr. B.S. Dhillon
Dr. M.V. Rao Dr. R. B. Singh
Dr.R.S.Paroda Dr. E.A. Siddiq
Dr. N.G.P. Rao Dr. M.V. Gupta
Dr.R. Mrutyunjaya
Chief Guests and Invited Speakers of Annual Day Functions
Chief Guests Invited Speakers Annual Day
Hon’ble Mr. Justice G. Raghuram (Retd.)
Former Director National Judicial Academy India
- 2002
Dr.Kakarla Subba Rao
Eminent Bone Radiologist of Medical Sciences, Hyderabad
- 2004
Dr. Y. L. Nine
DDG, ICRISAT, Hyderabad
- 2005
Dr A P. Ranga Rao
Former Additional Director of Medical Services, AP
- February 4, 2007, Sarojini Devi Auditorium, A.V.College campus, Domalguda, Hyderabad
Dr. A.V. Guruva Reddy
Orthopedic Surgeon
Sunshine Hospitals
- March 30, 2008, ANGRAU Teachers Home Auditorium, New Bhoiguda, Secunderabad
Dr. Palle Rama Rao
Former Secretary
Dept. of Science & Technology,
- March 8, 2009, Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences Auditorium, Secunderabad
Dr A.P. Ranga Rao
Former Additional Director of Medical Services
Sri K Murahari Rao, MD Pravardhana Seeds and Dr Vasireddy Narayana Rao 7th March 2010, Ashoka Hotel, Lakdikapool, Hyderabad
Dr P Krishnaiah
Chief Executive National
Fisheries Development Board,
- March 13, 2011, Gandhi Centenary Hall, Exhibition grounds, Nampalli, Hyderabad
Dr.S.L. Goswami
Dr (Major ) A Debnath CMO, ICAR-NAARM Dr R.G. Sunil Reddy February 19,2012, Ganji Rajamouli Gupta Auditorium, Vasavi Club , Lakdikapool, Hyderabad
Dr. A. Padma Raju
Dr K Ratan Kumar Vasan-Eye-Care Centre March 17, 2013, Ganji Rajamouli Gupta Auditorium, Vasavi Club , Lakdikapool, Hyderabad
Prof. Vedula Rajani Kanta Rao,
Director Radiology,
Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences, Secunderabad
Shri. Peri Viswanatham International Faculty - TM, TM-Siddhi & Yogi Flyer, Hyderabad March 9, 2014, Ganji Rajamouli Gupta Auditorium, Vasavi Club , Lakdikapool, Hyderabad
Dr. D. Rama Rao
ICAR-National Academy of Agricultural Research Management (NAARM
Dr. P.S. Rao Cardiologist CARE Hospitals Hyderabad March 15, 2015, GanjiRajamouli Gupta Auditorium, Vasavi Club, Lakdikapool, Hyderabad
Dr. W.R. Reddy
IAS Director General NIRD & PR, Hyderabad
Shri Kondreti Nageswara Rao Yoga Master April 10, 2016, Hotel Sapthagiri, Secunderabad
Dr. V. Praveen Rao V.C. , PJTSAU, Hyderabad - April 30, 2017, Vysya Hostel Auditorium, Kacheguda, Hyderabad
Prof. Podile Appa Rao Vice-Chancellor University of Hyderabad - April 28, 2018, Vysya Hostel Auditorium, Kacheguda, Hyderabad
Prof. & Dr. B. Balasubramanian
Distinguished Scientist & Director of Research Emeritus LV Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad
- April 21, 2019,Vasavi Club Auditorium, Lakdikapool, Hyderabad

The Executive Committee meeting held on 30-1-2012 under the Chairmanship of Dr M V S Sastry, President unanimously passed the following resolution: “It was decided to enroll all the winners of MS Swaminathan Award so far and future awardees as patrons of the Association and all the Chief Guests and the Special Speakers / Invitees so far and in future for MS Swaminathan award function, Annual days of the Association, Award Selection Committee members shall be confirmed as Honorary Patrons of the Society.”